Discovering new music

Easy to get into a musical rut isn’t it? Ok, maybe it only happens when, like me, you think you’ve heard everything and even the most heralded new bands sound formulaic but I’ve definitely found myself going back to bands like The Cure, Led Zep and Billy Bragg recently. It’s not that there aren’t amazing under the radar bands around but it’s sometimes hard work tracking them down, which is where the Guardian’s Music Alliance Pact has come in handy for me. A really simple format – lots of songs by bands from all over the world every month in list format with immediate stream / download options. Perhaps it’s because I’m listening to the songs with no peconceptions that the occasional few stand out and sound fresh, but whatever, it works! If you know of any blogs / sites that you recommend, let me know. In the meantime, you can hear one of my faves from the December MAP list here – by Anchorless from Denmark.

Leave a Reply

