Why I still don’t like Spotify (part 82)

Go Thom.

Unconference was great back in May – I enjoyed myself immensely apart from a minor blip when I was put soundly in my place for having challenged one of the speakers, Jen Long ( Label boss and Formerly Radio 1 DJ) that Spotify wasn’t all happiness and roses for artists as she’d made out. Jen was saying that the rate paid by Spotify was reasonable as it equated (per listener streaming at .001p) to a £40 payment for a play on BBC Radio 1 or 2.

Well, I said, whilst it gives you a platform, you’re a tiny needle in an otherwise huge haystack of music: you should be paid more per play as people generally seek out bands to listen to on Spotify, therefore you must have already discovered them – unlike radio where passive listeners are introduced to new music via gatekeepers.

Anyway, nice to see an article that kind of backs my thoughts up (tbh, I had a few people come up and agree with my sentiments on the day too!).  Here it is.

One thought on “Why I still don’t like Spotify (part 82)

  1. I have some of my work in Spotify (and similars like Deezer).

    I do agree that the payments seem unfair when sometimes I see a pretty good number of streams but after check how much it really means. I have no idea how exactly they calculate it but i’ve noticed it’s different from country to country and how many times some user listened to the same songs a few times.

    But we have to understand too that it must move a lot of money getting to pay all the artists and those who get milions of plays in a week.

Leave a Reply

