And the winner is…

I never enter music competitions – battle of the bands? Come on, really? But when I saw in the PRS for Music magazine that you could win a place at The Songwriting Festival (a five day, residential song-writing course with tutors including Andy White, Jez Ashurst and Kim Richey who’ve written number one hits for huge stars) I thought I’d give it a punt and sent off 3 tunes.

Turns out I won.  Champagne all round!

Except that in the very same email I was told (apologetically) that the course has had to be cancelled this year – unforeseen circumstances and all that.

But am I disheartened?  Yes.  Well a bit obviously as PJ Harvey had just been announced as the guest speaker(!) but I have to say the organisers have been massively supportive and have deferred my place til next year.  Needless to say I can’t wait…

In the meantime, I’ve had some amazing support on Twitter and YouTube from another course tutor and top ten song-writer; Julianne Regan of All About Eve fame.  So it’s all good, yes?

 

Leave a Reply

